MCOE, EECU to host Excellence in Education awards

Parents, students, educators and the community are invited to celebrate with educators, school employees and school administrators from across the county as the Merced County Office of Education and Educational Employees Credit Union host the annual Excellence in Education awards ceremony on Oct. 3 at the Merced Theatre.

The program, formerly Teacher of the Year, now has three categories: one for teachers, one for administrators and one for other school employees.

The awards ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Oct. 3 at the Merced Theatre, 301 W. Main St. in Downtown Merced.

There are three nominees for administrator of the year, seven nominees for school employee of the year and eight nominees for teacher of the year.

Honorees and their guests will enjoy videos produced by Merced Educational Television (METV) in the historic theater along with the announcement of winners in all categories. The winner of the Merced County Teacher of the Year and School Employee of the Year will move on to apply at the state awards program.

School District nominees this year are:

  • Cindy Shannon — Atwater
  • Leslie Antonetti  — Dos Palos
  • Barbara Azevedo — Gustine
  • Christine Quevedo-Sorci — Los Banos
  • Janet Benziger — County Preschools
  • Sarah Toews — County Special Ed.
  • Lea Smith — Merced
  • Rosbelina Ward — Weaver
  • Esmeralda Sanchez — Atwater
  • Marta Fontes — Delhi
  • Melissa Marshall — Dos Palos
  • Cohinda Corona — Gustine
  • Lance Brewster — McSwain
  • Sandra Stevens  — County Ed. Services
  • Lynna Garcia — Weaver
  • Kelli Parreira — Atwater
  • JoAnne Birdsall — Dos Palos
  • Stacy Shasky — County Ed. Services


To RSVP for the event or for more information on the Excellence in Education program, call Stacie Arancibia at (209) 381-5910 or email:  

MercedMerced CountyMerced County Office of Education
Comments (0)
Add Comment